Declaration of ATF Special Agent (ret.)

DECLARATION OF ********** 1. My name is ******** and I am 52 years old.  I was an ATF agent for 20 ½ years from February 1, 1987 until the date of my retirement on September 30, 2007.  I know Special Agent **********, but I am not involved in this EEO case other than for the purpose of giving this declaration. 2. When I commenced my employment with the ATF in February 1987, I was a Special Agent in the San Francisco Field Division and served in this capacity for 15 years until the Summer of 2002 when I was promoted to the position of Special Agent/Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF) Coordinator, a Headquarters Program Manager for the San Francisco and Seattle Field Divisions.  I still physically worked at the San Francisco Field Division after receiving this promotion, but my supervisor was located in Washington, D.C.  At some point in 2006 there was a program-wide change, and the San Francisco Field Division Special Agent in Charge (SAC) was assigned as my direct supervisor. This was SAC Steve Martin. 3. During the summer of 2007 I went to see my primary care physician at Kaiser Hospital for some knee and foot pain issues.  The routine pre-exam screening revealed a very high blood pressure reading, which quickly became the more urgent concern. During this same time frame I had my primary physician and one other doctor advise me that based upon my age, weight, blood pressure and family history, I was at risk of having a stroke. The second doctor was quite knowledgeable about stress related diseases and explained that stress encountered in a law enforcement career is cumulative.  Significant lifestyle changes were prescribed to improve my health and get my blood pressure down to a normal level. My doctor placed me on a non-work status for 30 days.  I had previously used about 8 days of sick leave during my entire 20 ½ year career with the ATF and had accumulated approximately 1800 hours of unused sick leave.